Captains’ Cup + Vets 2019


Captains’ Cup

On Friday 24 April the Captains’ Cup was held at The Cross Inn, Clarbeston Road, with a rather low turnout of just 8 team captains taking part this time. Lee Scott (Cross Inn) won the competition on home soil, beating Nigel Barnett (Rugby B) in the final. In the semis, Nigel beat Vince Ditri (Shamrock A), while Lee beat Dave Sinnott (Jubilee A).

Congratulations: Dave Sinnott 180, Rhys McLoughlin 140 out


Veteran’s Cup

Friday 3 April saw the over-50s toe the oche in the Veterans’ Cup, held this year at the Llwyngwair Arms, Newport. A modest 9 players took part, but some exciting darts were played on the night. In the semis, Will Evans won through against Barry Thomas in a high-scoring game, while Kev Francis beat Dave Thomas (Cambrian A). So the final was an all Drovers A affair. Very good darts from both players, but Will in top form throwing 2 x 180 plus a 116 out.


League Champions

Congratulations to the Castle Inn, Newport on regaining the title of A League Champions, after finishing runners-up for the last four seasons. Runners-up this year, only 4 points behind, was Shamrock C. The B League went down to the wire, with the Gate D, Scleddau just managing to beat off the challenge of the Ship Aground, Dinas by a single point to claim the title.